Tamiya Inari Jinja used be Oiwa Inari Jinja which enshrines Oiwa who was the wife of Tamiya Iemon who is famous for "Tokaido Yotsuya ghost story" written by the 4th Tsuruyananboku, a Kabuki writer in late Edo era. It is also designated as a historical monument by the Tokyo Metropolitan Government.
In "Tokaido Yotsuya ghost story", Iemon, an unemployment man of Totsuyasamon city, poisoned his wife Oiwa, and he ended up being retaliated by her ghost. It was played in Nakamuraza of Edo Asakusa in 1825, and became really popular. This is just a story, and Oiwa was actually the very virtuous wife of Iemon. People began to visit here to share Oiwa's good luck.
In 1872, it was renamed as "Tamiya Inari".
|Address||17, Samoncho, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo|
|Nearest station / Access||
Neighboring Must-see Places
Utilizing the building of a discontinued elementary school, this museum exhibits about 5,000 toys, including mainly wooden toys. Home and abroad is traditional; have…
To enshrine together in one company, and, before the Meiji era, to call thing which was two companies of Prince Susanoo company and Inari Corporation with "Suka Shinto shrine"…
Shinjuku Historical Museum was established as the center of Shinjuku's history and its culture. Sudden urbanization, war damage, soshi after the Meiji era…