It enshrines Fukusainari and Kiougongen together. Fukusainari is the dieity from Suwa shrine in Totsuka and was moved to where it is today in 1653 by kanjo (ceremonial transfer of a divided tutelary deity to a new location). Kiougongen came to the shrine by kanjo from Kumano in 1832. People used to dedicate tofu as it was believed to be effective for a rash and a swelling.
There is another interesting story about the shrine. The shrine has a unique water bowl in a way that it is put on the head of the demon statue. Every night, the water bowl made a sound as if it was taking a shower. The owner thought it was weird and attempted to chop it with Japanese sword. After that, he had many mishaps and dedicated the water bowl to the shrine in 1833. Also, there is Fuji mound built in 1930, but it was divided into two parts when the shrine was renovated in 1943.
◇Shinjuku Yamanote Shichifukujin Tour << Ebisu God >>
|Address||2-17-5, Kabukicho, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo|
|The nearest station, access||
Neighboring Must-see Places
Although Nukebenten already became like a name of a place now, there had been Itsukushima Shrine where Yoshiie Minamotono prayed for victory in war in old days.…
Popular shops that grab people's attention from all over the world gathered in the inside and the outside of the ticket barrier of JR Shinjuku Station New South area. On March 25 at the Shinjuku Station new south exit…
It is a temple of the Jodo sect of Buddhism, formally called "Kakanzanhongakuintaisoji". Thatched hut "emperor hermitage" which Buddhist priest, emperor opened is the Keicho era in forerunner…