Hanazono Shrine is the local shrine of Naitoh Shinjuku. It came into being when kanjo, ceremonial transfer of a divided tutelary deity to a new location, of Mount Yoshino occurred in Yamato province. Though it used to be in a street intersection of Shinjukusanchome, it was transferred to where it is now between 1624 to 1644. It was called "Yotusya oiwake inari" or "Sankouin Inari". Also, it was named "Hanazono inari" after Hanazono, flower garden, of Owari Tokugawa's secondary house.
It was often destroyed by fire, and every time fire occurred, they set up a small theater and played some a show called "Sankouin Shibai" in order to raise money for restoraton.
It used to be made of wood and plaster. However, it was completely burnt down during the late period of the World War Second. The building we see today was restored in 1965.
Hanazono Shrine owns many stone objects. Especially, the statue of "Karajishi (a kind of guradian dog)" is designated as an important cultural property of Shinjuku.
|Address||5-17-3, Shinjuku, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo|
|The nearest station, access||
A JR Yamanote Line "Shinjuku" (the east exit) 7-minute walk
Neighboring Must-see Places
batsubenten has already become like the place name now, but there is Itsukushima Shrine which Yoshiie Minamotono prayed for in old days and is better…
It is a temple of the Jodo sect of Buddhism, formally called "Kakanzanhongakuintaisoji". Thatched hut "emperor hermitage" which Buddhist priest, emperor opened is forerunner…
Popular shops that grab people's attention from all over the world gathered in the inside and the outside of the ticket barrier of JR Shinjuku Station New South area. By the appearance that green is beautiful at the Shinjuku south exit…