With the formal name “Kasumigaseki-zan Honkaku-in Taiso-ji,” this temple of Jodo Buddhism used to be a small place called “Taiso-an,” established by a priest called Taiso, which goes back to around 1596. In 1629, Naito Masakatsu, the 5th lord of the Naito Family died and was interred in Taiso-ji Temple, and afterwards the temple became the Naito Family’s temple.
Since this temple was located in Naito Shinjuku, one of the major Edo period shukuba (post stations), many people visited it for prayer offerings and the surrounding area developed. After the Meiji period (1868-1912), the temple grounds continued to be maintained along with the development of Shinjuku; however, fires caused by the bombing of Tokyo in 1945 severely damaged the temple.
The temple precincts serve as one of the “Shinjuku mini-museums,” showcasing “Dozo jizo bosatsu zazo (bronze statue of sitting Kṣitigarbha)”; one of the six Edo jizo statues, the “Emma-zo” statue; “Datsueba-zo” statue; “Naito Family Cemetery”; “Kirishitan-toro (Christian stone lantern)”; and “Excavated artifacts from the Naito Family Cemetery.”
◇Shinjuku Yamanote Shichifukujin (seven lucky gods) Tour << futaison >>
|Address||2-9-2, Shinjuku, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo|
|Nearest station / Access||
Neighboring Must-see Places
Although “Nukebenten,” the nickname for Itsukushima-jinja Shrine, is nowadays used to refer to the area, the shrine, which is known as the place where Minamoto no Yoshiie, a Minamoto clan samurai of the late Heian period (794-1185), visited to pray, is actually located in this area.…
In commemoration of marriage of the Emperor Showa, it is architect, Matsuyuki Moriyama in building donated by volunteers of Japanese resident in Taiwan at the time…
Popular shops that grab people's attention from all over the world gathered in the inside and the outside of the ticket barrier of JR Shinjuku Station New South area. By the appearance that green is beautiful at the Shinjuku south exit…