As a guardian god of Naito Shinjuku, one of the shukuba (post stations) in the Edo period (1603-1867), this inari-sha shrine,which worships the Inari god of agriculture and business, was brought from Mount Yoshino in Yamato-no-kuni (current Nara Prefecture) before the Edo period. The shrine, which used to be located near the Shinjuku-san-chome crossing, was relocated to the current location between 1624 and 1644. At that time, it was referred to as “Yotsuya-Oiwake Inari” and “Sankoin Inari,” as well as “Hanazono Inari,” due to hanazono (flower garden) of the Owari Tokugawa clan’s villa in the neighborhood.
The shrine burnt down several times due to fire. In order to collect money for each restoration work, people set up a theater building on the grounds and performed “Sanko-in shibai,” which attracted many visitors.
The shine buildings, made with unvarnished wood and cedar roofs, including the Haiden (prayer hall) with chigi roof decoration and the main building in a dozo-zukuri-style, were completely burnt down at the end of the Second World War. The current buildings were constructed in 1965.
There are some statues made with stone and other materials, including the bronze “Karajishi-zo” statue, which has been designated a tangible cultural property (sculpture) by Shinjuku City.
|Address||5-17-3, Shinjuku, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo|
|Nearest station / Access||
7-min walk from JR Shinjuku Sta. (East Exit)
Neighboring Must-see Places
Although “Nukebenten,” the nickname for Itsukushima-jinja Shrine, is nowadays used to refer to the area, the shrine, which is known as the place where Minamoto no Yoshiie, a Minamoto clan samurai of the late Heian period (794-1185), visited to pray, is actually located in this area.…
With the formal name “Kasumigaseki-zan Honkaku-in Taiso-ji,” Thatched hut "emperor hermitage" which Buddhist priest, emperor opened is forerunner…
In commemoration of marriage of the Emperor Showa, it is architect, Matsuyuki Moriyama in building donated by volunteers of Japanese resident in Taiwan at the time…