As a guardian god of Naito Shinjuku, one of the shukuba (post stations) in the Edo period (1603-1867), this inari-sha shrine,which worships the Inari god of agriculture and business, was brought from Mount Yoshino in Yamato-no-kuni (current Nara Prefecture) before the Edo period. The shrine, which used to be located near the Shinjuku-san-chome crossing, was relocated to the current location between 1624 and 1644. At that time, it was referred to as “Yotsuya-Oiwake Inari” and “Sankoin Inari,” as well as “Hanazono Inari,” due to hanazono (flower garden) of the Owari Tokugawa clan’s villa in the neighborhood.
The shrine burnt down several times due to fire. In order to collect money for each restoration work, people set up a theater building on the grounds and performed “Sanko-in shibai,” which attracted many visitors.
The shine buildings, made with unvarnished wood and cedar roofs, including the Haiden (prayer hall) with chigi roof decoration and the main building in a dozo-zukuri-style, were completely burnt down at the end of the Second World War. The current buildings were constructed in 1965.
There are some statues made with stone and other materials, including the bronze “Karajishi-zo” statue, which has been designated a tangible cultural property (sculpture) by Shinjuku City.
|Address||5-17-3, Shinjuku, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo|
|Nearest stations and access||
7-min walk from JR Shinjuku Sta. (East Exit)
Neighboring Must-see Places
Nukebenten has already become like the place name now, but is Itsukushima-jinja Shrine which Yoshiie Minamotono prayed for the victory in the old days…
With the formal name “Kasumigaseki-zan Honkaku-in Taiso-ji,” Thatched hut "emperor hermitage" which Buddhist priest, emperor opened is the Keicho era in forerunner…
In commemoration of marriage of the Emperor Showa, it is architect, Matsuyuki Moriyama in building donated by volunteers of Japanese living in Taiwan at the time…